macarons and salted caramel

Macarons are the new cupcake. Well, so I say. After my recent trip to Paris, France in September, I was intrigued on how to make this meringue cookie. I took a baking class at Gourmandise School of Sweets and Savories in Santa Monica, California and within three hours, I was able to crank out some beautiful, insanely-delicious macarons.

More or less, it comes down to the technique of folding the ingredients without *flattening* the texture. I was able to man handle the folding and turn the ingredients into ribbons, which resulted into perfect macaroons in the oven.
Clemence, our wonderful instructor, showed us how to make the most delicious salted caramel cream filling I’ve ever had. It was like liquid crack. I couldn’t stop eating the caramel filling.
Here is the recipe for the best salted caramel (as my holiday gift to you):
Salted Caramel Cream
In a small bowl, place:
100 g (scant 1/2 cup) heavy cream, warmed

In a medium saucepot, place:
200 g (scant 1 cup) sugar
1 Tbsp water
1 tsp lemon juice          

Set aside:
60 g (1/2 stick) butter (room temperature)
½ tsp sea salt  

1) Bring the cream simmer and set aside.
2) In a saucepot, heat the sugar, water and lemon juice on medium heat until they reach a golden caramel color. You may want to tilt the pot from time to time, but do not stir with any instrument.
3) Once you have reached the golden caramel stage, slowly (and carefully) add in the cream. Turn the heat back on to medium-low, and stir in the salt.
4) Cook over this heat, stirring occasionally, for about 3-5 minutes. The caramel will thicken a bit.  Turn off heat and add the butter.
 
