marshmallow treats: the perfect recipe

I simply love a good marshmallow treat. I was a marshmallow treat virgin until college. How sad was that? I’ve been missing out tremendously, but decided to make up for it by making them as often as I can.

I’ve sifted through some recipes for basic marshmallow treats. It shouldn’t be that difficult, right? But one recipe called for 1/3 tablespoons of butter and another called for 1/4 (half a stick). Different recipes also called for different cups of rice cereal, too.

So I decided to experiment with the food measurements and went by this one:

Betty’s Tried and True Marshmallow Treats Recipe:

Ingredients

8 cups of rice cereal (preferably Rice Krispies)
1/4 unsalted butter (half stick)
1 bag of marshmallows (I like the large ones and I like the Kraft brand)

Directions

1. Melt butter and marshmallows on low/medium heat. You don’t want to burn the marshmallows nor the butter.

2. Add the cereal slowly and mix in completely.

3. With a buttered or oiled spatula, remove to 13×9 greased pan.

4. Cool and enjoy.

Took 10 minutes to make and they are awesome.